RSS Feed

Preventing Injuries

Posted on

Hi all!

I spent much of the afternoon doing this:

After my half marathon on April 2nd, my right knee, foot, and quad have all been bugging me. They only bug me after my runs and the pain isn’t too bad, but I’m not taking any chances since I’m signed up for Fargo!

I have a HUGE history of injuries. It all started with 7th grade track and flat feet. Every time I would get done with a run, my feet would be throbbing. I spent lots of time in the training room icing my feet, until I finally got orthodics.

The summer after 9th grade, I was at PIP (performance improvement program) and during the cool-down lap, I felt something pull on the right side of my lower back. I had pulled my sacroiliac (SI) joint and that opened up a whole new world of problems for my back. There would be days where I couldn’t even walk…actually weeks.

From all of the overuse of my left side compensating for the pain on my right side, I developed an issue with my piriformis. My PT sister says that my piriformis pierces my sciatic nerve and sends pain down my left leg. It’s funny though, I will go months with no pain and then all of a sudden, I wake up and I can barely walk. This generally lasts 1-4 weeks. It’s a miserable feeling and it always sets me back physically. I was SO grateful to have my sister training with me for my first half. There was one week where my back started acting up and she did some serious massages on it and it worked wonders!

My half-marathon was the third one I’ve trained for. I’ve never made it more than 6 miles without getting injured. So when I decided I was going to train for a marathon, I did a serious amount of lower body strength training and I continued to strength train throughout my training. I think this was crucial in my success! I’ve always been scared to do squats and lunges because I was always afraid that it was going to hurt my back, so I completely avoided it. Well, I finally realized that I was never going to be able to run a half-marathon without getting some more muscles in my legs. I started out slow, and I feel that the only reason I was injury-free and successful in my half, was because of my strength training.

Last mile of Rock The Parkway

Whew! That was a novel!

Nowwww onto some goodies!

This is a such an easy recipe. And I’m all about easy. You will never see complicated recipes on this blog!

The Easiest Enchiladas Ever

Makes 10

Ingredients:

ingredients minus chicken

– 2 chicken breasts

– 1 (10 oz) can Rotel Tomatoes

– 1 (7 oz) can green chiles

– 2 (10 oz) cans enchilada sauce

– 1 can black beans

– 1 package Mexican-blend cheese (2 cups)

– 10 Whole Wheat Low-carb Tortillas (I use La Tortilla Factory)

Directions:

1. Chop up chicken

2. Cook chicken on the skillet

3. While the chicken is cooking, combine all of the ingredients (except tortillas) into a mixing bowl. I put about 3/4 cup cheese and leave the rest for topping. Also, make sure to leave about 2/3 of one of the cans of enchilada sauce!

4. Mix well

5. Add cooked chicken to mixture

6. Fill tortillas with the mixture

7. and put into a greased, glass pan

8. Top with remaining enchilada sauce and cheese

9. Cover with tin foil and bake for 45 minutes. Take foil off for the last 10 minutes.

10. Serve and enjoy!

Total domination

Hope you enjoy!

Have you ever suffered an injury from running? 

What precautions do you take to prevent injuries?

About mering4

I am a 20-something girl who lives in Minnesota and loves to run and eat!

3 responses »

  1. Dang my comment disappeared. That picture of Nate made me laugh out loud! Nice ka-nife!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

