RSS Feed

30 Day Challenge

Posted on

Hi everyone! Hope you had a beautiful day ๐Ÿ™‚ It was sooo gorgeous here!

So, I saw this challenge on Janetha’s blog and decided it would be a great way for me to tell everyone about myself!

Day 1 – Discuss your current relationship

Well, this is all about my favorite person! YAY! ๐Ÿ™‚

Nate and I met in the spring of 2007 at the end of our freshman year of college through some mutual friends. He was attending University of Nebraska – Omaha and I was at University of Nebraska – Kearney, but transferring in the fall. When I transferred my sophomore year, we hung out at the same parties, but were just friends. I had a boyfriend at the time and he had a girlfriend.

Our first picture together, ever! Summer after Freshman year

Fast forward to junior year. We started hanging out A LOT more. But just as friends. We spent most of the weekend nights at the same parties…but showing up to them together, still swearing we were just as friends. We both were still dating other people, but we seriously flirted. We hung out more and more that first semester, and then I decided that I needed to be focusing on my own relationship. So, second semester we pretty much stopped talking and hanging out and I started hanging out with some other friends.

Nate, me, Brandon Junior year

The last week of school, it was a Sunday night, I got a phone call and it was Nate. He said, “get ready, I’m coming to pick you up”. haha what?!?! I said, “um no, I’m not home, but you can call me tomorrow night if you want”. Oh, I was single by this time, btw. So, he said he would call me the next day. Well, he called me Wednesday night and we ended up going out as a group of friends, but then we separated ways. We hung out that weekend, too, and I was already falling…hard. You know when you just know? Anyway, I had to work that Sunday all day and I talked to him after I got off work and he said he would call me the next day. Well, he didn’t….and he didn’t call Tuesday..or Wednesday..and Thursday, I finally said to myself, “I’m not letting him go AGAIN!” So I called him. And he didn’t answer. UGH. He called me back about 15 minutes later and was out at the lake. So, I went out there and hung out with him and a couple other guys.

Nate's brother's wedding

Well, Nate was still dating the same girl he had been dating…he met her in Cabo and she lived in California, so it was pretty long distance. He ended up breaking up with her about a week later and we’ve been together ever since. (Yes, I did feel sorry for her at the time, but I am so happy with his decision.)

(I actually found out later that Nate had broken up with her in January because he had feelings for me, but never told me!! And then we stopped talking and he ended up getting back together with her.)

Dating a few months here

That was at the beginning of the Summer of 2009 and the rest is history!! We have now been together almost two years and he is literally the man of my dreams. We get in our fights every once in awhile, but we get along soย well. He always includes me on decisions, he always wants to be together, and I know someday (someday!!!) we will get married. Well, jeez, I did move 400 miles away from my friends and family for him! ๐Ÿ™‚ But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’m with my best friend and I truly am happy. Oh, and my family loves him, too. My parents treat him like another son and my brother and sister get along super well with him, too. They hang out with him without me all the time! Also, his brother got married in June 2009 and so I literally met Nate’s entire family RIGHT after we started hanging out!! It was so crazy. All his aunts called me “Mar in a bar” because they met me in the bar before the reception…and they wanted to remember how to pronounce my name!

Us in Ireland March 2010

So, enough rambling. That’s more like the story of how we met, not my particular relationship, but all I need to say about that is it’s amazing…and more than I could ever ask for ๐Ÿ™‚

So, there you have it! I could talk about Nate all night, but I better call it quits. I have exciting news to share tomorrow!

Do you have an interesting story to share about your significant other? Please share!!

xoxo, Mar

About mering4

I am a 20-something girl who lives in Minnesota and loves to run and eat!

4 responses »

  1. yay! glad you are doing this–it will be a great way to get to know more about you since you took so long to start a blog ๐Ÿ˜‰ love ya~! xo

    Reply
  2. This is a great idea! I might have to jump on the band wagon!

    You and Nate are a handsome couple!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’d tell ya about me and Dave, but I’ll just put it on the blog when I do the challenge! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I love the zebra print dress, too, by the way! I kind of want it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

