RSS Feed

Getting back on track – May goals

Posted on

Hi everyone!! How was the weekend for you?! Mine was super great! I ran 11 miles on Saturday morning WITH A NEW FRIEND! I met a lady named Robin during my run and I am so excited! I asked her if I could run with her because I’ve really been struggling getting through my long runs alone! Sometimes I just get bored 🙂 Sunday, Nate and I were super productive! We painted the entire basement! It looks sooo nice! There’s a few places that need patched up, so I’ll put up pictures as soon as it’s all finished!

Annnnyway, I indulged ALL weekend in junk. Not just sugar, but I just wasn’t watching what I was eating/the fresh food intake was pretty scarce. After my 11 miler, I was a hungry wildebeest. Sometimes I get super hungry after long runs, sometimes I don’t. But I wanted everything in sight on Saturday and I let it carry over to Sunday. So, this morning I decided I need to seriously lock it up. Swim suit season is right around the corner and I want to actually feel comfortable in my swim suit for once in my life. Now, everyone has their own opinion on what they should or should not do, and I’m no doctor, so this is for me and only me. I’m selfish.

Janetha always says, if you want to make a goal and stick with it, write it down!! It holds you accountable! When I did Body for Life last fall/winter, I did such a good job writing everything down and it helped me stay accountable!! So, today I took pictures or at least wrote down everything I ate. So, for awhile at least, I’m going to try to take pictures of my food, or at least write it down and share it with you all. This will force me to stay accountable!

Now, I don’t really have any “rules” because I hate rules, but I basically want to stop mindlessly munching at night. I have been dealing with this problem for about a year or so and it’s really hard for me to admit this….especially in public. I do it when I’m bored and tired. It’s always at night and it’s never unhealthy foods necessarily, it’s just munching!! I like to eat popcorn, especially.

So here’s my plan. I’m going to eat 5 meals a day. Some will just be a little snack and some will be actual meals, but I want to focus on eating when I’m hungry, but at the same time, not letting too much time go in between meals. So, today I did a pretty good job at taking pictures so I’ll post my meals for you.

First, I woke up an did the 10 pound slimdown Yoga and then I made myself some breakfast

Meal One

One egg and two eggwhites with spinach on a Thomas Bagel Thin slathered in a laughing cow wedge.

Meal two:

This was based off Ashley’s 3 ingredient corn cake, but I had to modify. I used

– 3 T organic corn meal

– 1.5 T organic spelt flour

– 1 cage-free egg

– 1/4 cup water

I microwaved it for a minute and 20 seconds and topped it with salsa. It was super yummy and I wasn’t hungry afterwards, so that’s all I had for lunch.

I went on a 3 mile run around 2:30 and came home and did some ab work! I need to do that more often after my runs…I’m lazy. After I finished, I had a hard-boiled egg. ummm yea that’s a lot of eggs in one day. oops.

For dinner, I whipped up these burgers. Nate threw up in his mouth and I was in heaven.

Sweet potato chickpea burgers topped with nutritional yeast and a side of steamed kale and mushrooms. HEAVEN.

Then I washed a zillion dishes. Nate brought me home a hard hat from work. How thoughtful 🙂

and Nate  Lilly is doing this:

Most ridiculous cat ever.

I’m going to have one more “meal”. I don’t know what that’ll be yet. I promise it will be healthy, though!

Sorry for the novel! Hope you all had a lovely Monday!

Maren

About mering4

I am a 20-something girl who lives in Minnesota and loves to run and eat!

5 responses »

  1. Bwaahha love the hart hat. You are so cute. And you never know when something large will come falling from the sky while washing dishes. I love your May motivation! I am definitely feeling the mindset vibe from you. I need to try Ashley’s cornmeal cake thingamajig, I have had it bookmarked. yum.

    Did you tell me Puffins were no added sugar or was that someone else? I forget. I am asking because I checked and they have molasses and I got sad 😦

    Reply
  2. eeeeeeeeeeeeee is that a road ID I see?!!?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

